- Services & Programs
- Marriages by a Judge
Marriages by a Judge
Please refer to Current Procedures Effective December 20, 2022
What to Bring
Valid Marriage License
Please contact the Lake County Clerk’s Office at (847) 377-2400. They are located at 18 North County Street, Waukegan, Room 101, or visit their Marriage License Information webpage for more information and requirements on obtaining a marriage license.
By state law, there is a one day waiting period from when you obtain your marriage license to when your license is valid. For example, this means that a license obtained on a Thursday is not valid until the following day, Friday. In extraordinary circumstances, this waiting period can be waived. Contact the Circuit Court Clerk's Office for more information.
The fee to apply for a marriage license is $35. Payment may be made in cash or by check/money order payable to the Lake County Clerk. Certified copies of the completed Marriage License may be ordered and prepayment made at the time of application. The first certified copy is $10 and additional copies are $4 each.
NOTE: The fees are subject to change without notice, please review the Lake County Clerk’s Office Records Request Page for current fees and updates.
If you would like a judge to perform the marriage, go to the Lake County Circuit Court Clerk's Office where you will pay a marriage fee of $10 in cash only. The Lake County Circuit Court Clerk's office is located at 18 North County Street, Waukegan, in the lower level of the Annex Building.
NOTE: The Lake County Clerk and Lake County Circuit Clerk are different offices.
By state law, no witnesses are needed, but you may invite small groups of guests.
No rings are required.
Where to Go
- Both parties must go to the Lake County Clerk's Office together to obtain the Marriage License.
- With a valid marriage license, go to the Lake County Circuit Court Clerk's office located at 18 North County Street, Waukegan, lower level of the Annex Building. Pay the $10.00 marriage fee in cash. Please review the When to Go section before coming to the courthouse.
- The Court Administration Office will then direct you and your marriage party to the courtroom for the ceremony.
When to Go
No appointments needed for weddings.
Times for Weekdays
Monday through Friday, arrive at the Courthouse entrance (18 N. County Street, Waukegan, IL) at 2:00 pm and report to 1st Floor Court Administration for a Courtroom assignment. Mornings and early afternoons are not available due to the needs of the normal court business. The Judge will leave once any known marriages are completed for the afternoon.
Times for Weekends & Holidays
Marriages by a judge can be performed on Saturday and Sunday mornings. Visit the Court Calendars page to view the current Holiday Court Schedules. It may be advisable to call 847-377-3600, during normal working hours, if you are planning to come in during a weekend that is on or near a holiday, to see if there have been any changes in the schedule.
Saturday and Sunday Morning Weddings
Saturday and Sunday morning Weddings will be presided in Bond Court (T-020). Please arrive between 8:45am - 9:00am in Courtroom T-020 (301 Washington Street Waukegan). The Judge will leave once court business and any known marriages are completed for the morning.
The morning of, contact the deputy or circuit court clerk in Courtroom T-020 with your valid marriage license and $10 marriage fee receipt.
Locations & Maps
- Bond Court 301 Washington Street Waukegan, IL 60085-5533 Map (PDF)
- Lake County Administration and Court Complex
18 N County Street
Waukegan, IL 60085-4359
Marriage Information Line
The court sponsors a Marriage Information Line to assist in answering questions concerning marriage by a judge. Please call 847-377-3999 to reach the information line. Selections are recorded in both English and Spanish.