Daniel B. Shanes


  • Current Assignment: Chief Judge, T-810
  • Elected Circuit Judge: Third Subcircuit, November 2012
  • Appointed as Circuit Judge: By Supreme Court, December 6, 2010
  • Associate Judge: 2007 - 2010
  • Undergraduate: University of Iowa
  • Law School: DePaul University College of Law; DePaul Law Review
  • Career Highlights: Appointed by the Illinois Supreme Court to serve as Chair of the Illinois Judicial College Board of Trustees, Chair of the Supreme Court Committee on Jury Instructions in Criminal Cases, and as a member of the Illinois Judicial Conference on strategic planning; faculty for the National Judicial College; previously judicial law clerk to Justice Robert J. Steigmann, Illinois Appellate Court; Lake County State's Attorney's Office, Chief of Felony Review Division; awarded the Seymour Simon Justice Award, the Fred Foreman Criminal Justice Award, National Crime Victims' Right Week Award, and Benedict J. Ori Award; service on the Boards of Directors of Illinois Judges Association, the Lake County Bar Association, and the Lake County Haven.

Return to Staff Directory